I’m Glad God Ain’t Like Me


As I was fixing supper the other night, I was getting annoyed by my kiddos who kept interrupting me with ” Mom, I want something to eat!” And “Mom! I’m sooo thirsty!”.  And of course the never ending “Is supper ready yet?” And “Mom,  can’t i just have a snack?”.  Just as I was about to lose it, well let’s just be honest, I lost it.  But then God pricked my heart and showed me how I wasn’t acting very Christ-like. 
Of course I am their Mom and I already know what they need and want.  I know that they are hungry and thirsty.  I know Brantyn wants meat and potatoes and Silas wants the veggies.  I’m aware that as soon as I sit down their plate, they’ll be looking for their drink. And I even know that they’d like to eat with their “construction” utensils instead of plain forks.  I’m working as hard as possible to get supper finished as soon as I can because like my little boys, my husband and I are starving too.  But somehow I just couldn’t keep my cool with all the constant begging.  It made me feel like they didn’t even realize that I ALWAYS take care of their needs, I ALWAYS fix their supper and give them a drink. Why was it so hard for them to realize that even if they didn’t aggravate me to death, they’d still be fed?  That’s when God smote my heart and I realized that I act that exact same way most of the time with Him.  I neglect to realize that He already knows all of my needs and that He is going to take care of them.  As good as my God is, He even knows my wants and my preferences and even though I’m not guaranteed those things, He loves me so much that He usually gives me those too.  I don’t have to eat loaf bread and milk three times a day, I get to have tasty choices and usually don’t repeat the meal for a few weeks. My God is just that merciful and gracious! 
Why must I be so nagging and doubtful that He is going to come through?  Where’s my faith?  I’ve had to come to the heartbreaking realization that I am just like my 3 year old spiritually.  I don’t have any more faith in God than he has in me fixing his supper. In fact, he probably has more faith than me but just lacks the patience to wait for me to finish cooking.  What’s more is that not only do I act like a three year old, constantly asking the Lord when he is going to answer my prayer or when He is finally going to move in a situation, but I now even realize how I could never deal with someone as impatient and faithless as myself. 
As I lost it on my kids, I realized how awful that it was for me not to be a Christ-like example for them.  Does God get that mad at me when I question Him?  Does he rebuke me and “lose his temper” with me?  No.  Of course not. I sure am glad that God ain’t like me.  I’m glad God is so much more forgiving and understanding than I could ever even imagine being. I really must strive more and more every day to trust in God and rely on Him in ALL things and have faith in His perfect timing.  I’ve got to stop the constant questioning.  Thank you Lord for being patient with me through my many failures and especially when I’m acting like a three year old Christian.

One thought on “I’m Glad God Ain’t Like Me

  1. Leah,I enjoyed reading I’m Glad God Ain’t Like Me.I know I keep asking God over and over for things I wonder if He gets tired of hearing me. I’m so thankful He isn’t like me.He is so merciful and patient, I Love Him With All my Heart and thank Him for all His many Blessings.Leah I Love you and Evan,and the Precious Little Boys,
    Aunt Jewell,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

