Thinking Of You


I have caught myself recently texting my friends who were facing surgery, sickness or death in their family and saying “thinking of you”.  Although it is nice to be thoughtful of others, my motives for saying it were pure laziness and lack of self-discipline on my part.  See, I had first typed “praying for you” but then thought at the last minute, “What if I don’t get time today to actually pray for them? Then I will have lied.”  So I rewrote the text to say “thinking of you” so that just in case I didn’t get time to pray, I would still be fine.  How pitiful on my part?  O wretched soul that I am.  I’ve been convicted of this and although I did try earnestly to make time to pray for those who I had texted, I still failed them.  We should be determined to actually be thoughtful of others and their situation and burdened for them.  Burdened enough that we make time in each day to earnestly beseech the Lord on their behalf.  If we can be self-disciplined enough to do this, we would have no problem telling them we are praying for them.  No guilt, no shame.  Just honesty.  So I am now aware of my short coming and must exercise more brotherly love in my everyday life.  I must be concerned for those around me, especially those whom I know personally.

Next time you say, “I’m thinking of you”, take time to think about what else you could do for them.  Could you pray? Could you do any service that may help them in their time of need?  Cook a meal?  Help with their children or family?  I must say, I need to be more thoughtful and helpful to those in need.

 Let brotherly love continue.

Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

Remember them that are in bonds, as bound with them; and them which suffer adversity, as being yourselves also in the body.

Hebrews 13:1-3

Leave a Reply

