Is Your “Nail Polish” Too Dark?


image

I love nail polish, but my relationship with it waxes and wanes over time.  I’ll constantly be painting them daily for a month then I won’t even touch it for the next two.  So right now, I’m loving nail polish (but don’t ask me how I feel about it next week).  I wore a rather dark purple yesterday, and when I removed it last night my nails were pretty disgusting.  It was amazing how much under-the-fingernail dirt had been hidden by that purple polish.  It made me think, if my my spiritual walk with God were a fingernail, am I just painting dark polish over it?  Or could I wear clear and not be ashamed?
I would have been embarrassed to the core if my nasty nails would have been revealed to anyone, and I was so thankful that my polish had kept them hidden.  Sometimes our spiritual lives and relationship with God gets in pretty nasty shape too.  We all have sin in our lives, and we shouldn’t try to hide it.  We should get out the nail polish remover, clippers and file and start cleaning up our “nails”.  Just realize what it is we are doing wrong, whether it is neglecting our prayer or study time, failing to do God’s will, or letting “pet sins” make their home under our “fingernails”.  Then we should get busy confessing it to God (removing the polish), and start living a “clean” life that God can get glory from.  Our lives should be as such that we have nothing to hide, from the Lord or anyone else.  After all, the Lord sees it all anyway and nothing can be hidden so we shouldn’t fool ourselves.  Now if we are aware of these “blemishes in our nails” (sin in our life), we should never just try to pick out a dark color to cover them up (keep our sins hidden).  Let our daily color decision be made after we search our hearts and make sure that if we wore clear polish that no shame would be brought on us.  Let’s not hide the dirt under our nails or the stains on our nails with dark polish, let’s just clean them up!

For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil. Ecclesiastes 12:14

Leave a Reply

