I Want My Lord To Be Satisfied With Me


We all have those memories of really good church services where certain testimonies make an impression so deep on our lives that we could never erase them.  For me, one of those memories has been coming to mind quite often lately.  It was several years ago during a service where the Holy Ghost just “kicked the honey keg over” so to speak.  There was an elderly woman that sat near the back, wearing old worn out clothes and looking very tired from her walk to church.  Yes, this woman walked!  She was poor by this world’s standards and had to walk wherever she went.  For those of you who don’t know where I live, this is a rural area in the mountains.  No sidewalks or taxis and everything is spread out for miles.  She lived a couple miles from our church and I have seen her walking to and from town several times before and since carrying her lone grocery bag of necessities.  As she sat towards the back of the church that night, God began to move on people to testify.  I know several had shared their testimony but not a single one can I recall to my memory, except hers.  She stood, very humbly, and began to sing in a very rough, crackly voice “I Want  My Lord To Be Satisfied With Me”.  The Holy Ghost started filling my soul as she sang.  Her voice wasn’t exactly the most gorgeous or even in tune, but it was the most beautiful song I have ever heard!  She was singing truly from her heart.  She knew the Lord and was singing for Him, without shame or embarrassment.  I believe she had been living her daily life truly wanting the Lord to be satisfied with her.
Think for a moment: she was very poor, probably poorer than most of us will ever be.  She didn’t have on some nice church outfit with matching earrings and heels, she was wearing what she had and that just happened to be a worn out denim skirt and a plain blouse.  She didn’t have any transportation other than her own two legs.  And yet she still wanted the Lord to be satisfied  with her.  In our society, satisfaction is hard to come by.  Nobody is satisfied with anything at all.  We are especially dissatisfied when we don’t have the newest vehicles to drive, nicest clothes available and all the technology and accessories that are so common.  You just don’t fit in of you aren’t up to speed with the new devices.  But this woman truly understood what life was about!  We shouldn’t be concerned at all with any of the material things available, we should only take thought of the spiritual things that we can attain.  That’s what the Lord will be satisfied with.  He doesn’t care one little iota about our new shoes, diamond necklace, leather seats, or shiny wheels.  He cares about our souls condition, our fellowship with Him, our prayer life, our witness and testimony to those around us.  Are we hindering our own capability to serve the Lord by being distracted and concerned with the things of this world?  This woman had very little here on earth but if she was living her daily life to be satisfying to the Lord then she will have many many treasures in heaven.
How much easier should it be for all of us to live a life that is satisfying unto the Lord?  If a woman who lives without so much can strive and desire to live her life for Lord, then why can’t we?  Are we too afraid that we may have to give up one of our prized treasures so that we can have the satisfying life the Lord desires for us?  I know it’s very hard for me to stay committed to my prayer life and study time because my flesh would rather be spending the time playing on my smartphone.  I’ve had to delete certain apps off my phone on several occasions because I had let them become an obsession and God would show me that the time I was spending using them was His time not mine.  I very easily get distracted and consumed by the things of this life and I’m the first to admit that it’s not easy to be satisfying unto the Lord.  We should truly desire to live a life that’s without sin and have a close walk with God.  We are going to fail, we will sin daily, we will faint, but we have to keep trying.  The desire of this poor woman has made me realize how poor I am spiritually.  Do I truly desire the Lord to be satisfied with me?  Will I live my life so that He can be satisfied with me?

One glorious day Jesus came and made me whole. He so completely then satisfied my soul. Now as I face life’s dark troubled stormy sea. I wonder if He is satisfied with me.

I want my Lord to be satisfied with me. I want my life to be what He’d have it be. And when I come to that great eternity, His smile will say He is satisfied with me.

I’m satisfied with God’s great redemption plan I’m satisfied it’s sufficient for all man.  I’m satisfied with His work on Calvary. But is my Lord fully satisfied with me.

I want my Lord to be satisfied with me. I want my life to be what He’d have it be. And when I come to that great eternity, His smile will say He is satisfied with me.

Lord give me strength, give me courage, make me bold. That I may lead some lost sheep into the fold. That I might stand unafraid to move for thee. That you might be fully satisfied with me.

I want my Lord to be satisfied with me. I want my life to be what He’d have it be. And when I come to that great eternity, His smile will say He is satisfied with me.

2 thoughts on “I Want My Lord To Be Satisfied With Me

  1. Good stuff sister. Thanks for sharing your heart. Would to God there would be more believers giving wonderful testimonies like this. The world would be a much better place. Thank you. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

